The opening of the graves (Ezek 37:12-37:14)

“Therefore,

Prophesy!

Say to them!

Thus says Yahweh God!

‘I am going to

Open your graves.

I will bring you up

From your graves.

O my people!

I will bring you back

Into the land of Israel.

You shall know

That I am Yahweh,

When I open your graves.

I will bring you up

From your graves.

O my people!

I will put

My Spirit

Within you.

You shall live.

I will place you

On your own soil.

Then you shall know

That I,

Yahweh,

Have spoken.

I have done it.’

Says Yahweh.”

Yahweh, via Ezekiel tried to bring hope to the captured Israelites. He told Ezekiel to tell them that Yahweh, their God, was going to open up their graves and bring them back from the grave. Is this an indication of a personal resurrection? He was going to bring them back to life to live in the land of Israel, on their own soil. Yahweh then repeated himself. Then his people would know that he put his Spirit in them. They would finally realize that Yahweh had spoken and done this.

Leave a Reply

