The famine in Samaria and cannibalism (2 Kings 6:26-6:31)

“Now as the king of Israel was walking on the city wall, a woman cried out to him. ‘Help, my lord king!’ He said. ‘No! Let Yahweh help you. How can I help you from the threshing floor or from the wine press?’ But then the king asked her. ‘What is your complaint?’ She answered. ‘This woman said to me. ‘Give up your son. We will eat him today. We will eat my son tomorrow.’ So we cooked my son and ate him. The next day I said to her. ‘Give up your son, and we will eat him.’ But she has hidden her son.’ When the king heard the words of the woman he tore his clothes. Now since he was walking on the city wall, the people could see that he had sackcloth on his body underneath. He said. ‘May God do so to me, and more, if the head of Elisha son of Shaphat stays on his shoulders today.’ So he dispatched a man from his presence.”

The unnamed king of Israel was walking on the city wall in Samaria. A woman cried for help. However, the king said he could not do anything. Instead he said that they should ask Yahweh for help. Then the woman told her story. She was tricked by another woman into cooking her son and sharing the meal with her in the hopes that the next day, they would do the same with her neighbor’s son. Instead the other woman hid her son. The famine was so bad that they were eating their own children. The king was upset with this story and tore his clothes. Underneath his clothes was sack cloth. He then blamed all this famine and siege on the prophet Elisha. He wanted to behead him since he been so kind to the Arameans. Yahweh was not blessing Samaria.

116 thoughts on “The famine in Samaria and cannibalism (2 Kings 6:26-6:31)

  1. I really like and appreciate your blog.Much thanks again. Great.

  2. Thanks-a-mundo for the article post.Much thanks again. Much obliged.

  3. Looking forward to reading more. Great article post.Much thanks again. Great.

  4. Thanks-a-mundo for the blog.Really looking forward to read more.

  5. Awesome post. Awesome.

  6. Really enjoyed this post.Much thanks again. Really Great.

  7. Enjoyed every bit of your blog post.Much thanks again. Really Cool.

  8. I think this is a real great blog.Much thanks again. Really Cool.

  9. What’s Going down i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve discovered It absolutely helpful and it has aided me out loads. I hope to give a contribution & help other customers like its aided me. Good job.

  10. I was suggested this website by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty. You are wonderful! Thanks!

  11. Thank you for your post. Will read on…

  12. Major thankies for the blog article.Thanks Again. Awesome.

  13. Thanks for sharing, this is a fantastic blog.Really looking forward to read more. Cool.

  14. Really enjoyed this article post.Really thank you! Really Great.

  15. Thanks for sharing, this is a fantastic blog article.Really looking forward to read more. Cool.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.