The beasts with seven heads and ten horns

On three separate occasions, Revelation references “beasts” that have seven heads and ten horns.  References to seven heads and ten horns often refer to something Satanic.  The ten horns may be a reference to Daniel who saw a beast with ten horns.  Daniel saw four beasts that represented kings.  The first kingdom was the lion, Babylon, who under Nebuchadnezzar, sacked Jerusalem and destroyed the temple.  The second kingdom was the bear, Persia, under Cyrus the Great, Darius, and Artaxerxes, in many ways benevolent toward Israel, allowing them to return to Judah and rebuild.  The third kingdom was the leopard, Greece, after the death of Alexander the Great, with the eventual ruler in Judea a man named Antiochus Epiphanes IV, who defiled the temple and sought to destroy the Jewish religion.  The fourth kingdom was Rome, who stood out as different and more severe than the others.  It was under Roman rule that the promised Christ finally appeared.  In 70, Rome sacked Jerusalem and destroyed the temple, killing about a quarter-million Jews and enslaving 90,000 more.  All had dominated and persecuted God’s people, Israel, for a period of time.  Ten kings, represented by the ten horns, emerged from Rome.  What do you know about Israelite history in Judea?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.