Divisions of the Gospel of John

The majority of scholars see four sections in this Gospel of John.  There was the initial prologue in chapter 1:1–18.  Next came an account of the ministry of Jesus that is often called the “Book of Signs” from chapter 1:19–12:50.  Then there was the account of Jesus’ final night with his disciples, including the passion and resurrection of Jesus, sometimes called the “Book of Glory” from chapter 13:1–20:31.  Finally, there was an epilogue which probably did not form part of the original text in chapter 21.  Do you like to know the divisions of a book?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.