The response of the prophetess Huldah (2 Kings 22:15-22:20)

“The prophetess Huldah declared to them. ‘Thus says Yahweh, the God of Israel. Tell the man who sent you to me. Thus says Yahweh. I will indeed bring disaster on this place and on its inhabitants. All the words of the book that the king of Judah has read will come to pass because they have abandoned me. They have made offerings to other gods, so that they have provoked me to anger with all the work of their hands. Therefore my wrath will be kindled against this place and it will not be quenched. But as to the king of Judah, who sent you to inquire of Yahweh, thus shall you say to him. Thus says Yahweh, the God of Israel. You regarded the words that you have heard. Your heart was penitent. You humbled yourself before Yahweh, when you heard how I spoke against this place, and against its inhabitants. They should become desolate and a curse. You have torn your clothes. You have wept before me. I also have heard you, says Yahweh. Therefore, I will gather you to your ancestors. You shall be gathered to your grave in peace. Your eyes shall not see all the disaster that I will bring on this place.’ They took the message back to the king.”

This female prophetess Huldah clearly spoke in the name of Yahweh, “Thus says Yahweh.” This indicates that Yahweh can speak through females, even if rarely. Disaster will come to this place and its inhabitants. The words of the book will come true. These people have abandoned Yahweh. They offer sacrifices to other gods rather than Yahweh. The wrath of Yahweh will rage against them. However, the king of Judah was penitent and tore his clothes. Yahweh has heard his prayers. He will be gathered to his ancestors in peace. The disaster will come after his death. They brought this message from the prophetess Huldah back to King Josiah.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.