Outline of the Book of Ruth

Outline of the Book of Ruth


Ruth General Structure (per Jerusalem Bible)


I. Ruth and Naomi

Setting the scene (Ruth 1:1–1:5)

Naomi decides to reurn to Israel (Ruth 1:6–1:14)

Canticle of Ruth (Ruth 1:15-1:18)

Lamentation of Naomi in Bethlehem (Ruth 1:19–1:22)


 II. Ruth and Bo

Boaz (Ruth 2:1-2:1)

Ruth in the field of Boaz (Ruth 2:2–2:7)

The conversation between Ruth and Boaz (Ruth 2:8–2:17)

Ruth reports to Naomi (Ruth 2:18–2:23)


III. Boaz sleeping

Naomi reveals her plan to Ruth (Ruth 3:1–3:5)

Ruth at the threshing-floor of Boaz (Ruth 3:6–3:15)

Ruth reports to Naomi (Ruth 3:16–18)


IV .Boaz marries Ruth

Boaz with the kinsman and the men at the gate (Ruth 4:1–4:6)

Boaz agrees to purchase the land and family of Elimelech (Ruth 4:7–4:12)

A son is born to Naomi (Ruth 4:13–4:17)

Genealogy appendix (Ruth 4:18–4:22)



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.