The tribe of Zebulun (Josh 19:10-19:16)

“The third lot came up for the tribe of Zebulun, according to its families. The boundary of its inheritance reached as far as Sarid. Then its boundary goes up westward, and on to Marahal, and touches Dabbesheth, then the Wadi that is east of Jokneam. From Sarid it goes in the other direction eastward toward the sunrise to the boundary of Chisloth-tabor. From there it goes to Daberath, then up to Japhia. From there it passes along on the east toward the sunrise to Gath-hepher, to Eth-kazin, and going on to Rimmon it bends toward Neah. Then on the north the boundary turns to Hannathon, and it ends at the valley of Iphtah-el. Kattath, Nahalal, Shimron, Idalah, and Bethlehem were twelve towns with their villages. This is the inheritance of the tribe of Zebulun, according to its families, these towns with their villages.”

Zebulun gets a small territory north of Manasseh, stuck in between Asher, Naphtali, and Issachar. Sarid is the southern border of Zebulun, but this is the only mention of it in any of the biblical books. There is a mention of 12 towns but only 4 are listed. However, there were 12 towns mentioned in the description of the boundary. This is also the only mention for 7 towns: Marahal, Dabbesheth, Chisloth-tabor, Eth-Kazin, Hannathon, Kattath, and Idalah. The Bethlehem here is not the one in Judah south of Jerusalem.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.