The descendants of Ishmael (Gen 25:12-25:18)

“These are the descendants of Ishmael, Abraham’s son, whom Hagar the Egyptian, Sarah’s maid, bore to Abraham.  These are the names of the sons of Ishmael, named in the order of their birth: Nebaioth, the first-born of Ishmael; and Kedar; Adbeel; Mibsam; Mishma; Dumah; Massa; Hadad; Tema; Jetur; Naphish; and Kedemah.  These are the sons of Ishmael and these are their names, by their villages and by their encampments, twelve princes according to their tribes.  This is the length of the life of Ishmael, one hundred thirty-seven years.  He breathed his last and died, and was gathered to his people.  They settled from Havilah to Shur, which is opposite Egypt in the direction of Assyria.  He settled down alongside of all his people.”

Ishmael lived to 137 years old.  Ishmael had 12 sons who became 12 princes much like Jacob will have 12 sons.  Ishmael is the hard luck outcast, but important because he was technically the first born of Abraham.  Nebaioth will be the father of the people who settle in Edom.  The descendents of Kedar settled in the Arabian Desert.  Adbeel settled somewhere southwest of the Dead Sea.  There are two people named Mibsam and Mishma in the bible.  There are a number of places named after Dumah, the most famous on the Syrian border.  The Massa descendents settled somewhere near the Babylonian border.  Hadad frequently turns up as a name of some princes in Edom. A town in Syria is named after Tema.  Jetur, Naphish, and Kedemah seem to be associated with the Hagrites.   They mostly settled in the Arabian Desert.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.